Close this search box.

December 6 2016 | Mexico City, Mexico

13th ParlAmericas Plenary Assembly: Strengthening Parliaments and Building Resilient Societies to Achieve the Sustainable Development Goals

Several seats on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee of the Group of Women Parliamentarians were open for election. The results of the elections were the following:

  Presidency   – Marcela Guerra, Senator, Mexico
  Vice Presidency   – Robert Nault, MP, Canada
  North America (3 seats open)   – Canada – Mexico
  Central America (1 seat open)   – Nicaragua
  The Caribbean (2 seats open)   – Jamaica – Trinidad and Tobago
  South America (2 seats open)   – Chile – Ecuador
  Host Parliament – 14th Plenary Assembly   – Colombia
  Vice Presidencies GoWP (2 seats open)   – Claudia Nogueira, MP, Chile – Mobina Jaffer, Senator, Canada

* The members of the Board of Directors must be active members of their respective Chambers. A Board Director cannot simultaneously hold office as a Cabinet minister in the executive branch of his/her government. ** According to Resolution 34-03, ratified at the 11th Plenary Assembly, Parliaments will need to remain current with their membership due payments to run for and retain a seat on the Board. Payment receipt for the current year must be confirmed by the International Secretariat the day prior to the election.